County Legislature

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


District 1 - City of Hornell

  • Gary D. Swackhamer, Republican
  • Paul E. Van Caeseele, Republican

District 2 - City of Corning

  • Steven Maio, Democrat
  • Hilda T. Lando, Democrat

District 3 - Town of Bath

  • Nick Pelham, Republican
  • Kelly H. Fitzpatrick, Republican

District 4 - Cohocton and Wayland

  • John V. Malter, Democrat

District 5 - Prattsburgh, Pulteney, Urbana

  • K. Michael Hanna, Republican

District 6 - Dansville, Hartsville, Hornellsville

  • Brian C. Schu, Republican

District 7 - Avoca, Fremont, Howard, Wheeler

  • Aaron I. Mullen, Republican

District 8 - Bradford, Campbell, Wayne

  • Jeffrey P. Horton, Republican

District 9 - Cameron, Canisteo, Thurston

  • Wendy Lozo, Republican

District 10 - Greenwood, Jasper, Rathbone, Troupsburg, West Union, Woodhull

  • Frederick G. Potter, Republican

District 11 - Addison, Lindley, Tuscarora

  • Robert V. Nichols, Republican

District 12 - Town Erwin

  • James Kuhl, Republican

District 13 - Caton, Corning, Hornby

  • Scott J. Van Etten, Republican
  • Carol A. Ferratella, Republican

Overview & History

The County Legislature is the governing body of the County, exercising a wide variety of administrative, as well as legislative responsibilities as defined in the State Constitution and Statutes. Prior to 1984, the County was governed by a thirty-four member Board of Supervisors, each representing one of the County's thirty-two towns and two cities. Following approval by the voters in 1983 of a reapportionment plan, the County was divided into thirteen legislative districts. The resulting seventeen-member legislature, reflecting the "one man, one vote" principle, uses a weighted voting system based on County population. The votes represented by each legislator are shown.

Until a change in procedure adopted in 1994, County Legislators were elected for two-year terms, with all legislators coming up for re-election at the same time. In the 1995 election, half of the Legislators were elected to a four-year term, and half for two. Subsequently, all Legislators are elected to four-year terms, with half the Legislature running for election every two years. Additionally, the 1995 election instituted term limits for Legislators which limited them to serving three consecutive four year terms. In 2013, the Legislature put forth a mandatory referendum to the voters requesting authority to become a Charter County (PDF), replacing the County Administrator position with a County Manager, and to change the elected County Treasurer position to an appointed Commissioner of Finance. This alternate form of government was approved by the electorate and was instituted in Steuben County on January 1, 2014. Furthermore, in April 2015, the term limit for Legislators was extended, allowing them to serve four consecutive four year terms.

Each January following an election, the Legislature holds a reorganizational meeting and elects a Chair and Vice Chair for the next two years. The position of Chair carries with it considerable authority and responsibility. The Chair appoints the members and Chairperson of each standing committee, and is an ex-officio member of each. The Chair presides over all meetings of the Legislature, and represents the County and the Legislature in various capacities, both ceremonially and as a member of various boards and organizations.


The Legislature is divided into six Standing Committees to more efficiently carry out the responsibilities of County government. The Finance Committee has the overall responsibility for preparing the County Budget to present to the Legislature, as well as an ongoing function in reviewing County financial affairs. The Administration Committee is generally involved in the operation of the Legislature itself, as well as the internal affairs of County departments. Each of the other four committees oversees a specific aspect of County government.

Steuben County Legislature Members

Pictured: Back Row, Left to Right - K. Michael Hanna, Steven Maio, Jeffrey Horton, Aaron Mullen, Robert Nichols, Brian Schu, John Malter, Guy Hammond, Paul Van Caeseele, Frederick Potter, James Kuhl. Front Row - Left to Right - Wendy Lozo, Gary Swackhamer, Kelly Fitzpatrick, Scott Van Etten, Carol Ferratella, Hilda Lando.